skip navigation

New Girls Rec League Launches

By Staff, 09/17/19, 12:15PM MDT


Colorado Girls Hockey League Replaces the MSGHL

Girls recreational hockey in Colorado is under new management with the creation of the Colorado Girls Hockey League (CGHL).   Replacing the MSGHL, the CGHL provides youth associations with girls only teams a new leadership structure and a travel-efficient approach to scheduling.  Approved by the CAHA Executive Committee in late summer, the CGHL will begin operations for the 2019-20 season with 13 full members.  The Director of each member program will serve on the CGHL Board, each having an equal vote for all league decisions.  Brian Copeland, the Executive Director of Colorado Springs and the CAHA Coach-in Chief, will serve as the first CGHL President.  AJH Executive Director Shaun Hathaway, who was instrumental in the creation of the CGHL, will serve as the league's Secretary.  In this role, Hathaway will manage any changes made to the league's new bylaws and rules/regulations, and organize notes from all league meetings.

Closely aligned with the Colorado Girls Tier Hockey League, game scheduling was revamped to provide members efficient travel to reduce expenses without compromising competition.  At the 12U and 15U age groups, the CGHL structured two divisions (Front-Range and Mountain) with five teams per division in each age group.  At the 19U age group, the CGHL organized a matrix that favors geographic proximately.  Instead of forcing families to take long road trips to only play a couple games, overnight trips require teams to schedule a four-game series instead of two as it was with the previous league.  The entire game schedule will be completed and published soon.  CGHL playoffs will take place February 21-23 at the Edge Ice Arena in Littleton.  All CGHL teams will qualify for the post season tournament, and be seeded according to league standings.  The playoff format will be a double elimination tournament, with a consolation bracket to ensure every team is guaranteed at least three games.  

The CGHL website is currently under construction and will be online soon:  Member teams include: Aspen, Boulder, Colorado Select, Colorado Springs, Durango, Hyland Hills, Littleton, New Mexico, Steamboat, Summit, Telluride, Vail, and West Elk.  Current bylaws and rules/regulations are posted below...