skip navigation

Leafs Squirt B's Claim Championship

By Shaun Hathaway, 03/04/20, 1:30PM MST


Aspen Defeats Top Seed Summit 4-2 in Playoff Finals

Squirt B WCHL Champions:

After spending the season focused on skill development, it all came together at the end of the season with a WCHL playoff championship celebration for the Leafs Squirt B team.   In the championship game, Aspen displayed its best performance of the year with a convincing 4-2 win over the top seed Summit Lightning.  Colton Jones scored two goals in the contest, including the game winner.  Diggs Weldon led the team with nine points (7 goals, 2 assists) in five total playoff tournament games.  Coached by Jon Eichel and Mark Stachowicz, the Leafs finished the WCHL regular season with a 12-3-1 record in league play.  When asked about the results, Eichel didn’t mince words: “Our team had ups and downs throughout the season.  Hard work, determination, and passion led our team to a championship in the end.”

Players: Max Armstrong, Tanner Barbin, Malcolm Berg, Jakob Gee, Alfred Kaplinski, Cameron Light, Diggs Welden, Liam Kirby, Colton Jones, Etai Platt, Tiago Bennett, Cody Shepherd, Luke Pfautz